Adapted from ITF website

General Choi developed a very complete technical system that has evolved over the years. In the beginning, he used many karate-like movements that were performed rather stiffly. Research by the General and his students, as well as scientific research, led to the current technical system, which continues to evolve. Taekwon-Do movements respect and work in harmony with the physical laws and the constitution of the human body. This is why practicing Taekwon-Do is excellent for physical growth, overall health, agility, improved co-ordination, and the development of strong mental capacities. The techniques of Taekwon-Do can be represented as a circle. Each of the individual methods of training are added gradually, building on techniques already learned, but the student continues to practice all the different types of training.


Cycle of Taekwon-Do

There are five elements which make up the cycle of Taekwon-Do. They are used to help the student train and progress. By following the cycle of Taekwon-Do students gain greater development of their skills in all the areas of Taekwon-Do. The cycle consists of:

  • Fundamental Movements

  • Patterns

  • Sparring

  • Self Defence

  • Conditioning or physical development of the body

The Tenets of Taekwon-Do

One of the core features of Taekwon-Do is the prioritisation of the moral development of its students. We do not train only to be fighting machine but also to be better people. There is a core moral philosophy in Taekwon-Do rooted in the eastern philosophical teachings. This was so important to the general that he changed the spelling of Taekwon-Do. By adding a hyphen to the word he brought attention to the two elements of training: the physical (Tae and Kwon) and the moral (Do). The five tenets of Taekwon-Do act a a guide for students moral development. These are traits we should carry inside and outside of our training.

  • Courtesy

  • Integrity

  • Perseverance

  • Self Control

  • Indomitable Spirit



The Grades in Taekwon-Do

Taekwon-Do grades are divided into colour belts (Kups) and Black Belts (Dans). There are 10 colour belts and 9 black belts. Starting at white belt (10th Kup) the students progress to Black Belt.

  • White Belt

  • Yellow Tag

  • Yellow Belt

  • Green Tag

  • Green Belt

  • Blue Tag

  • Blue Belt

  • Red Tag

  • Red Belt

  • Black tag

  • 1st - 9th Dan Black Belt